Log in Newsletter

Elections 2022

Four new members of the Fayetteville City Council were among those sworn in to office Thursday night. The ceremony was held at Seabrook Auditorium on the campus of Fayetteville State University.

The Thursday recount produced the same result. Political newcomer Mario Benavente’s win over incumbent Antonio Jones was verified Thursday in a Cumberland County Board of Elections recount of the vote for the District 3 Fayetteville City Council seat.

Mitch Colvin will place his left hand on his personal Bible on Thursday in taking the oath as Fayetteville’s mayor for a third consecutive term. He describes it as a swearing-in of gratefulness.

Fayetteville City Councilman Antonio Jones has requested a recount in the District 3 election in which political newcomer Mario Benavente leads him by only six votes in the latest tally, an elections official said Monday.

Political newcomer Mario Benavente maintained a six-vote lead over incumbent Antonio Jones to secure the District 3 seat on the Fayetteville City Council following Friday’s canvass by the Cumberland County Board of Elections.

Chances are, there will be three new faces on the Fayetteville City Council on Aug. 11, when the winners of last week’s election are sworn in at Seabrook Auditorium at Fayetteville State University.

Fayetteville City Council to see four new members

The Fayetteville City Council will undergo a considerable change next month with four new members joining five incumbents, according to unofficial results Tuesday.  Three of those new council …

The new Fayetteville City Council will have four new members and five incumbents, according to unofficial results of Tuesday’s election. Mayor Mitch Colvin defeated his challenger to win …

Fayetteville Mayor Mitch Colvin easily won re-election Tuesday, complete but unofficial election returns show. Colvin, who was first elected mayor in 2017, defeated political newcomer Freddie de …

Kathy Jensen defeats challenger Alex Rodriguez

Kathy Jensen will serve her fifth term on the Fayetteville City Council after defeating Alex Rodriguez on Tuesday in the race for the District 1 seat, according to unofficial returns. Jensen, 57, …

City Councilwoman Shakeyla Ingram, running for her second term in office, held off former Councilman Tyrone Williams in Tuesday’s election for the District 2 seat on the Fayetteville City Council, according to unofficial results.

Challenger Mario Benavente edged incumbent Antonio Jones by six votes on Tuesday in the election to represent District 3 on the Fayetteville City Council, unofficial returns show. Benavente …

D.J. Haire wins 11th term in District 4

D.J. Haire will be one of the longest-serving members of the Fayetteville City Council after easily turning back challenger Thomas C. Greene on Tuesday for the District 4 seat, according to …

Incumbent Fayetteville City Councilman Johnny Dawkins handily defeated political newcomer Fred G. LaChance on Tuesday in the election for the District 5 seat on the council, according to unofficial results.

Derrick Thompson defeated business owner Peter Pappas in Tuesday’s municipal election, according to unofficial returns. Thompson received 962 votes and Pappas received 619 votes, according o unofficial results from the N.C. State Board of Elections.

Political newcomer Brenda McNair on Tuesday upset incumbent Larry O. Wright Sr. for the District 7 seat on the Fayetteville City Council, according to unofficial returns. McNair received 679 votes …

Freshman City Councilwoman Courtney Banks-McLaughlin will return for a second term representing District 8, according to unofficial election returns.

Bill Kirby Jr.: Mama always voted, and so do I

You’ll find the old house along N.C. 690 heading into the little town of Vass in Moore County. Seems like it has been there forever and a day. “That’s Bill Smith’s …

Tuesday is Election Day for Fayetteville voters, who will cast ballots for mayor and nine members of the City Council. Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

More than 4,000 cast ballots during early voting period

Candidates and their supporters were out Saturday urging people to vote on the last day of early voting ahead of the Fayetteville municipal election. The Board of Elections office on Fountainhead …

On a podcast in May, City Council candidate Tyrone Williams denied that the FBI investigated a secretly taped conversation in which Williams tells the project manager of the Prince Charles Hotel properties that he can make “a cloud” on a lien disappear for $15,000.

In the Fayetteville City Council District 2 race, incumbent Shakeyla Ingram is being challenged by former Councilman Tyrone Williams. Both are Fayetteville natives who grew up in the district.

Incumbent Ingram facing former Councilman Williams in District 2

Shakeyla Ingram is campaigning to keep her District 2 seat on the Fayetteville City Council. Challenging her is former Councilman Tyrone Williams, who is running for office again after reluctantly resigning four years ago when allegations emerged that he tried to solicit money from a developer.

Public safety and quality of life are key issues for both men in Fayetteville’s mayoral race. Colvin, 49, served on the City Council for two terms, including a stint as mayor pro tem, before …

Fayetteville Mayor Mitch Colvin says improving public safety is a key part of providing economic opportunity for everyone, which he believes is the city’s most pressing need. His challenger …

« Prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next »
Currently viewing stories posted within the past 2 years.
For all older stories, please use our advanced search.