Log in Newsletter

Business Notebook for April 3, 2022

A roundup of business news in Fayetteville and Cumberland County


Cumberland superintendent recognized for leadership

Marvin Connelly Jr., the superintendent of Cumberland County Schools, was recently recognized for his leadership by the North Carolina Association of School Administrators.

Connelly and Marcie Holland, recently retired senior director of Human Resources for Wake County Public Schools, were co-awarded the association’s 2022 Raymond Sarbaugh Leadership Award, the Cumberland County school system said in a release. 

The award is given annually to an association member or members who “show outstanding leadership in public school service and commitment to enhancing and supporting the efforts of fellow school administrators and NCASA,’’ the release said.

“I am humbled by this award,’’ Connelly told fellow superintendents at the association’s conference in Winston-Salem. “Thank you for your commitment to all of the students across North Carolina. During the COVID-19 pandemic, they were counting on schools to turn things around. You have done it. Thank you.”

Connelly was nominated by N.C. School Superintendents’ Association Executive Director Jack Hoke.

“His greatest accomplishment is in the way that he leads,” Hoke said. “His transformational leadership style pushes others to the forefront to take on leadership roles and achieve success for students.”

Connelly has worked in public education in North Carolina for nearly 30 years, serving as a special education teacher, principal, assistant superintendent and chief of staff before becoming the superintendent of Cumberland County Schools in 2018.

Nominations being accepted for Champion of Children Awards

The Child Advocacy Center is accepting nominations for its Champion of Children Awards, which recognize people in the community who fight against the mistreatment of children.

The categories for nomination are agency/group, professionals and volunteers. The deadline to submit a nomination is April 11.

Awards will be presented during the Child Advocacy Center’s 2022 Child Abuse Summit on April 28 at the Fuller Recreation Center.

To make a nomination, complete this google document or print it and mail it to: Child Advocacy Center, ℅ Break the Chain Committee, PO Box 488, Fayetteville, NC, 28302.

Cumberland County Schools recognizes 3 for dedication to students, staff

Three people were recognized Wednesday for their hard work and dedication to Cumberland County Schools.

Beth Heisel and Suzanne Davies, the instructional coaches at Elizabeth Cashwell Elementary School, received the April 2022 Extra Mile Award. Sharon Glover, the System of Care coordinator for Alliance Health, received the April 2022 Committed Community Support Award, the school system said in a release.

The Extra Mile Award recognizes employees who demonstrate a sustained high level of performance and inspire others to do their best, the release said. They were nominated by K-5 Math Curriculum Specialist Lisa Suther Johnson.

Johnson said the two go above and beyond, even dipping into their own pockets, to make sure the staff at their school has everything they need.

“They provide coaching cycles, training, and guidance during Professional Learning Community sessions,’’ Johnson said. “They also support the entire staff by providing a ‘Staff Snack Station’ within their room in case teachers forget their lunch or a staff member needs a ‘pick-me-up’ treat at the end of a long day.”

The Committed Community Support Award is presented monthly to an individual or a group for selflessly supporting the school system and helping students succeed, the school system said. Glover was nominated by the school system’s Student Services executive director, Natasha Scott. 

“Whatever and whenever we have requested assistance, Ms. Glover has been there or linked us to the correct person,’’ Scott said. “She is the personification of what a committed community looks like, and she does it because she cares, not for recognition.”

Cumberland County Schools, superintendent, Marvin Connelly Jr., Child Advocacy Center, Extra Mile Award, Committed Community Support Award