Log in Newsletter

Finalists named for principal, assistant principal of the year awards


Finalists for principals and assistant principals of the year were announced Tuesday during Cumberland County Schools’ Summer Leadership Conference.

Awards will be given in elementary, middle and high school categories.

The finalists include:

Elementary Principal of the Year

  • Erica Fenner-McAdoo of Howard Hall Elementary School. 
  • Meshonda Williams of Ed V. Baldwin Elementary.
  • Rebecca McAlister of Vanstory Hills Elementary.
  • Shanessa Fenner of W.T. Brown Elementary.
  • Brady Davis of New Century International Elementary.

Middle school Principal of the Year

  • John E. McMillan, Lewis Chapel Middle School.
  • Regina Blanding, Hope Mills Middle.

High school Principal of the Year

  • Larry Parker Jr. of E.E. Smith High School.
  • Valerie Martin of Alger B. Wilkins High School.

Elementary school Assistant Principal of the Year

  • Darius Gillespie at Montclair Elementary.
  • Angelena Owens at Armstrong Elementary.
  • *Amanda Hefner at Margaret Willis Elementary.
  • *Timberly Jones at Westarea Elementary.
  • Thema Glover at J.W. Coon Elementary.

Middle school Assistant Principal of the Year

  • Ebony Forte-Johnson, Manchester Middle School.
  • Sharley Ditmore, R. Max Abbott Middle School.

High school Assistant Principal of the Year

  • Kristle Rouse of Westover High School.
  • Rachel Andress of William H. Owen Elementary School.

The winners of the awards will be announced during the district’s 2023-24 convocation on Aug. 15 before more than 6,000 employees, the release said.

The CityView News Fund is a nonprofit organization that supports CityView’s newsgathering operation. Will you help us with a tax-deductible donation?

Cumberland County, education, schools, Principal of the Year