Log in Newsletter

Introducing: CityView's All-Cumberland County Football Team


By Earl Vaughan Jr.

Duran McLaurin

Here is the inaugural CityView All-Cumberland County football team. Nominations were submitted by the Cumberland County senior high school football coaches and they voted on the team.

Coach of the year
Duran McLaurin, Seventy-First
McLaurin guided the Falcons to a 12-1 record this season, including 7-0 in the United 8 Athletic Conference. Seventy-First’s only loss was to Greenville Rose which hosts Jacksonville in the N.C. High School Athletic Association 3-A East Regional finals tonight.

Offensive Player of the year
Anthony Quinn Jr., Seventy-First
Quinn was previously voted the offensive player of the year in the United 8 Athletic Conference. He finished the season with 207 rushing attempts for a county-best 1,870 and 32 touchdowns. He averaged nine yards per carry. He also caught nine passes for 87 yards and one score.

Defensive Player of the Year
Twan Anderson, Westover
Anderson was named the defensive player of the year in the All American Athletic Conference. He led Cumberland County with 28 sacks for the season. He had a total of 102 tackles.



Joshua Jones, Westover

Running back
Anthony Quinn Jr., Seventy-First
Jonathan Higgins-Simmons, Terry Sanford
Jemell Vereen, Jack Britt
Jre Jackson, Terry Sanford
Jayden Shotwell, Seventy-First

Anthony Quinn Jr.

Wide receivers
Jamari Stallion, Westover
Julius Riley, Seventy-First

Tight end
Jaylen Johnson, South View
Zayvion Hill, Seventy-First

Offensive line
Nicholas Bailey, Seventy-First
Ashton Williams, Seventy-First
Christian Deaver, Terry Sanford
Lewis McAllister, Westover
Hayward Bell, Pine Forest

Jay Haggins, South View


Defensive line
Remington Workman, Westover
Quentin Brown, Pine Forest
Bryan Brewington, South View
Hector Bautista, Seventy-First
Trevon Wactor, Terry Sanford

Twan Anderson

Barnes Smith, Terry Sanford
Jamieson Alston, Seventy-First
Twan Anderson, Westover
Ku’lil Bandmann, Pine Forest

Defensive backs
Donovan Davis, Seventy-First
T’sion Brown, Gray’s Creek
Carlos Craig, Terry Sanford
Trevaun Allen, Jack Britt
Justin Eaglin, Pine Forest
Delano Blevins, Pine Forest

Luca Duarte, Jack Britt



Deandre Nance, Seventy-First
Keyshawn Taylor, Pine Forest

Running back
Jensen Gibbs, Westover
Richard Williams, Gray’s Creek
Seth Franklin, E.E. Smith

Wide receivers
Ean Ward, Pine Forest
Jamareese Ray, South View

Tight end

Offensive line
Gage Pate, Gray’s Creek
Blake Blackburn, Jack Britt
Jabori Hood, South View
Jayden Kegler, Douglas Byrd
Dontae Small, Douglas Byrd


Defensive line
Amarie Daniels, Jack Britt
Chris Krings, Cape Fear
Austin Seagroves, Cape Fear
Davion Jackson, South View
Kyle Johnson, Jack Britt
Tarvitta Harrison, Gray’s Creek
Jalen McDonald, Pine Forest
Jace McLaughlin, Douglas Byrd

Damodrick Foster, Westover
De’montrious Raitliff, Seventy-First
Blake Crawford, South View
Elijah Smith, Douglas Byrd

Defensive backs
Omar Houston, Seventy-First
Fred Logan, Pine Forest
Jarred Alexander, Westover
Mekhai Coleman, Cape Fear

Ku’Iill Bandmann, Pine Forest
Jameion Johnson, Douglas Byrd

Richard McDonald, Cape Fear
Kaivaughn Spence, Westover
Cordell Frye, Gray’s Creek
Isaac Evans, South View
Tyler Jeffress, Jack Britt
Demarcus Carroll, Douglas Byrd
Floyd Wall, Westover
Jamison Reed, Pine Forest
Keyshon Washington, Cape Fear
Kanye Butler, E.E. Smith
Isaac Lewis, Seventy-First
Te’John Darden, Douglas Byrd