Log in Newsletter

Business Notebook for May 1, 2022

A roundup of business news in Fayetteville and Cumberland County


President Biden recognizes local JROTC instructor

The JROTC instructor at South View High School was recently recognized by President Joe Biden for her volunteer efforts in the community.

Retired Army Sgt. Maj. Ruby Murray was awarded the 2021 President’s Lifetime Achievement Award, the school system said in a release. The award is the highest designation of the president’s Volunteer Service Award. It recognizes those whose service positively impacts their communities and inspires people around them to serve.

Lifetime Achievement Award recipients dedicate at least 4,000 hours to volunteer service, the release said.

Throughout her 26 years of military service and her work as an educator, Murray has maintained a passion for volunteerism and an unwavering commitment to the success of her students, school and community, the release said.

“I truly believe that — until the day I die — I will continue to volunteer for my country, my state and definitely my community,’’ she said. “When duty calls, this great American will be present for duty.”

The 56th Quartermaster Corps also recently announced that Murray will be inducted into the Quartermaster Hall of Fame Class of 2021. The designation recognizes those who have made the most significant contributions to the overall history and traditions of the Quartermaster Corps.

Outstanding volunteers in Cumberland County recognized

Seven people and two groups from Cumberland County were recently recognized with the 2022 Governor’s Volunteer Service Award by the North Carolina Commission on Volunteerism and Community Service.

They were: Stacey Buckner, Jacqueline Crawford, Casey Ferris, Duncan Harling, Wilma Hernandez, Jerel McGeachy Jr. and Patricia Ann Archie Jackson. Group award recipients were BSA Venturing Crew 32 and the volunteers at the Airborne & Special Operations Museum. The volunteers at the ASOM who were recognized were John McCauley, Carol Ivey and Bertha Council.

In addition, Buckner was chosen to receive the Governor’s Medallion Award, which is given to the state’s top 20 volunteers.

The Governor’s Volunteer Service Award recognizes people who have shown concern and compassion for their neighbors by making a significant contribution to their community through volunteer service, a release said. The award was created in 1979. The Cumberland County winners are scheduled to receive their awards at the Cumberland County Board of Commissioners meeting on May 16.

Fayetteville transit director receives Milestone Award

Randy Hume, director of the Fayetteville Area System of Transit, was recently recognized with a North Carolina Public Transportation Association Milestone Award. The award recognizes retiring association members for their years of service and or exceptional service and duty to the group. 

Hume accepted the award at the association’s annual conference on April 12. He plans to retire from FAST in July.

Hume has more than 40 years of service in the public transportation sector. He is a Navy veteran and was hired as the FAST director in December 2010. 

“This award signifies Randy’s dedicated service not only to passengers but to our entire city,” City Manager Doug Hewett said in a release. “Randy has accomplished so much during his career, most recently managing the uncertainty of the pandemic and transition to cashless transactions. Dedicated to continual improvement, he rides the bus frequently to ensure excellence. We will miss his humility and leadership, but are proud of him and the foundation built for our continued success.”

Hume was involved in the planning and development of the FAST Transit Center at Franklin Street, which opened in 2017.

“I’ve been blessed with so many opportunities to serve passengers in Fayetteville and surrounding areas,” Hume said. “Along with my team, I’ve tried to prepare FAST for a bright future with new equipment and technology that will make public transit attractive and convenient for our customers.’’

Fayetteville’s Coleman recognized by N.C. Airports Association

Toney Coleman, director of Fayetteville Regional Airport, has been awarded the 2022 Willard G. Plentl Aviation Professional of the Year Award from the North Carolina Airports Association. 

The award honors an aviation professional who emulates the dedication and leadership of Willard Plentl, who worked in the industry for more than 50 years, the city said in a release. The award is given through a special nomination and selection committee to an individual who embodies leadership, commitment to aviation and community involvement. 

“Our airport has become one of the finest in the southeast thanks to Toney’s steady leadership and influence,” City Manager Doug Hewett said in the release. “This well-deserved recognition signifies his passion for aviation, his dedication to impact and his commitment to exceptional leadership. I am proud he has chosen to make a difference here in the Fayetteville community and look forward to what he will accomplish in the future.”  

Business Notebook, Cumberland County Schools, Fayetteville, volunteers, Fayetteville Area System of Transit, Fayetteville Regional Airport