Log in Newsletter

Cumberland schools to name top principal, assistant principal for 2023


Cumberland County Schools will recognize the district’s top school administrators at an awards presentation Monday night.

Eighteen finalists are in the running for Principal of the Year and Assistant Principal of the Year honors for 2023, according to a CCS news release.

The ceremony will be from 6 to 7 p.m. Monday in the Richard M. Wiggins Conference Center at Embassy Suites.

Your support helps ensure a more informed community. Donate today.

Principal of the Year finalists are:

  • Antoine McGill, J.W. Seabrook Elementary School.
  • Erica Fenner-McAdoo, Howard Hall Elementary.
  • Lisa Gillespie, Mary McArthur Elementary.
  • Shanessa Fenner, W.T. Brown Elementary.
  • Tara Bratcher, Loyd Auman Elementary.
  • Gemette McEachern, New Century International Middle.
  • Regina Blanding, Hope Mills Middle.
  • Zoletta Taylor, Douglas Byrd High.
  • Phyllis Jackson, South View High.

Assistant Principal of the Year finalists are:

  • LaTonya Adams, Elizabeth Cashwell Elementary.
  • Marcus Stewart, Pine Forest High.
  • Carleen Evans, Vanstory Hills Elementary.
  • Amy McDowell, Cumberland Mills Elementary.
  • Laura Fields, Margaret Willis Elementary.
  • Kanisha Jones-Dunor, Luther “Nick” Jeralds Middle.
  • Travis Stroud, Spring Lake Middle.
  • Kenneth Williams, E.E. Smith High.
  • Janet Blue, Westover High.
Cumberland County, Fayetteville, education, principals