Log in Newsletter


Fayetteville Sports Club picks March 8 for 2024 Hall of Fame ceremony

The Fayetteville Sports Club has set the date and time for this year’s Hall of Fame induction ceremony.
It will be Friday, March 8, at 6 p.m., and will be held at the new Tony Rand Student Center Multipurpose Room on the campus of Fayetteville Tech on Hull Road.
Admission will be $65 per person.
Tickets will be handled by Ashley Petroski, who can be reached at 910-323-9195 or ashley@npfp.com.
The members of the class who were announced earlier include former E.E. Smith and Wake Forest football standout Aaron Curry; the late Ray Williams, football star at Reid Ross and Clemson; Tammy Brown Tew, who played basketball at Terry Sanford and Campbell; Marques Murrell, football star at Jack Britt and Appalachian State and Brent Barker, South View women’s basketball coach.
While this year’s banquet is set, the club is seeking assistance to continue honoring Fayetteville’s athletic finest for years to come.
“We are looking for some new blood to take over the Hall of Fame,’’ said longtime sports club president Greg Parks.
Since a vast majority of the members of the Hall of Fame are products of the Cumberland County Schools athletic program, Parks has scheduled discussions with county school system's Student Activities Director David Culbreth to see if a partnership can be struck between the two organizations to assure a long-term future for the Hall of Fame.
“We are trying to get some help from them to carry on the flag for the next 20 years,’’ Parks said.
Parks said the club is open to suggestions from the public on how to get support for the Hall of Fame moving forward. Anyone who has suggestions is welcome to email them to earlvaughanjr@gmail.com.
I’ve been through multiple realignments of the state’s conferences by the N.C. High School Athletic Association and there’s one universal truth every time it’s done. There is no way to please everybody, period. But they do keep trying.
Earlier this week, the NCHSAA released some models for possible realignment dealing with how schools might be divided in the new eight classification setup.
One calls for eight equally divided classes. The other two would put the biggest 32 or smallest 32 schools at opposite ends of the realignment.
I don’t have a personal preference this early in the game, but getting as much input as possible never hurts. Just be advised, with a state this big and so many different sizes of schools in metro and rural areas, somebody is going to get the fuzzy end of the lollipop when it’s over.
Congratulations to the following Cumberland County Schools female wrestlers who earned berths in the NCHSAA wrestling championships Feb. 15-17 at the Greensboro Coliseum Complex.
An asterisk by a name indicates a wrestler who was a champion in regional competition:
  • 120 pounds - Isabella Hernandez, Jack Britt.
  • 126 pounds - Katelin Lock, Jack Britt.
  • 138 pounds - Sumaiya Aamoud*, Jack Britt; Amelia Pranka, Terry Sanford.
  • 145 pounds - Alyssa Miller, Pine Forest.
  • 152 pounds - Sophia Ozanich, Jack Britt.
  • 185 pounds - Lianna Davis*, E.E. Smith; Victoria Shepherd, Jack Britt; Saliyah Brooks, Seventy-First.
earls pearls, nchsaa wrestling championships, cumberland county schools female wrestling, nchsaa conference realignment, fayetteville sports club hall of fame