Log in Newsletter

Four Cumberland County schools getting new principals


Beginning July 1, four schools in the Cumberland County Schools district will have new principals, the school system announced.

The Cumberland County Board of Education on Tuesday approved John “Royvell” Godbolt as the new principal of Terry Sanford High School. Godbolt previously served as the assistant principal and athletic director at Terry Sanford.

Superintendent Marvin Connelly Jr. also announced the transfer of three principals to their new assignments:

  • Tanya Higgins, the principal of Lake Rim Elementary, will become the principal of Eastover-Central Elementary. Higgins joined Cumberland County Schools in 2003 as an elementary school teacher.
  • Kamal Watkins, who serves as the principal of Lillian Black Elementary, will become the new principal of District 7 Elementary. Watkins joined the district in 2006 as a teacher assistant.
  • Cornelius Felder, the principal of Ireland Drive Middle, will become the new principal of Pine Forest Middle. Felder joined the system in 1996 as a career and technical education teacher at Terry Sanford High School.
Cumberland County, Board of Education, new principals, Marvin Connelly Jr., Terry Sanford High School, Eastover-Central Elementary School, District 7 Elementary School, Pine Forest Middle School