Log in Newsletter

Election 2022: City Council

Roundup of winners in Fayetteville City Council election includes 4 new members

Benavente, Thompson, McNair, Hondros elected in unofficial returns


The new Fayetteville City Council will have four new members and five incumbents, according to unofficial results of Tuesday’s election.

Mayor Mitch Colvin defeated his challenger to win another term, results reported by the N.C. State Board of Elections show.

Here are the unofficial results from the state elections board in City Council contests:

District 1: Incumbent Kathy Jensen defeated challenger Alex Rodriguez, 807 to 561 votes.

District 2: Incumbent Shakeyla Ingram defeated challenger Tyrone Williams, 749 votes to 653. There were 144 write-in votes, according to the state tally.

District 3: Challenger Mario Benavente edged incumbent Antonio Jones 1,012 votes to 1,006. There were 10 write-in votes.

District 4: Incumbent D.J. Haire defeated challenger Thomas C. Greene, 1,232 votes to 237.

District 5: Incumbent Johnny Dawkins defeated challenger Fred G. LaChance, 1,643 to 750 votes.

District 6: Derrick Thompson defeated Peter Pappas for an open seat, 962 votes to 619 votes.

District 7: Challenger Brenda McNair defeated incumbent Larry O. Wright Sr., 679 votes to 656.

District 8: Incumbent Courtney Banks-McLaughlin defeated challenger Michael Pinkston, 748 votes to 196.

District 9: Challenger Deno Hondros defeated incumbent Yvonne Kinston, 911 votes to 804 votes.

In the mayor’s race, Colvin defeated challenger Freddie de la Cruz. Colvin got 9,253 votes – or 63% of the total cast – compared with 5,452 votes for de la Cruz, or 37%.

Fayetteville, elections, City Council